WASHINGTON, D.C.—The Energy and Commerce Committee’s Subcommittee on Energy today advanced by voice vote a bill introduced by Rep. Greg Stanton and Rep. Marc Veasey of Texas to reauthorize and increase funding for the Energy Efficiency and Conservation Block Grant Program. 

The block grant program provides grants to states, local governments, and Indian tribes to assist efforts to reduce fossil fuel emissions and conserve energy. The bill, H.R. 2088, would reauthorize the program and provide it with $3.5 billion annually for the next five years. 

The bill’s movement comes less than a week after it was endorsed by the U.S. Conference of Mayors and the National League of Cities. 

Next, H.R. 2088 will move to the full Committee for markup.