Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

June 5, 2024

The Honorable Mike Johnson Speaker United State House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510 The Honorable Hakeen Jefferies Minority Leader United State House of Representatives Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Johnson and Minority Leader Jefferies,

As representatives from Arizona, we urge you to swiftly bring the expanded bipartisan Radiation Exposure Compensation Reauthorization Act (RECA) extension to the House floor immediately for a vote.

As you know, the United States government conducted nearly 200 atmospheric weapons development tests as part of Cold War security from 1945 to 1962. These tests exposed thousands of Americans 'downwind' from the nuclear fallout to cancer-causing ionized radiation. There's a higher tendency among downwinders to develop devastating cancers including Leukemia, Multiple Myeloma, Lymphomas and many more.

When the injuries were discovered, Congress passed the Radiation Exposure Compensation Act, which established a fund for partial restitution to those who contracted certain cancers and other serious diseases directly attributed to the radiation exposure from the nuclear weapons testing. However, the original bill included serious boundary flaws that prevented otherwise eligible Arizonans—including those in lower Mohave County—from receiving compensation.

Nearly three months ago, the U.S. Senate overwhelmingly passed a bipartisan RECA reauthorization, S. 3853, by a vote of 69-30. That bill authorizes a five-year extension of the RECA program and expands the geographic 'downwinder' eligibility to include all counties in certain Western states, including Arizona. But without action in the House, RECA will expire on June 10th—potentially denying Arizona families the compensation they need to pay for health care treatments.

It's long past time for the federal government to take responsibility for its actions. We urge you to bring the Senate-passed RECA reauthorization to the House floor immediately.

Sincerely,

Greg Stanton Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress